Language, Literature and Performing Arts scholarships

Creative Writing/English

Gail Fraser Scholarship for Literary Studies

This scholarship was established in 2011 in memory of Douglas College English Instructor Gail Fraser. Gail's family wished to support students who followed a similar path to Gail, "a real scholar with a keen mind." The goal of the scholarship is to recognize and reward students who have completed an Associate of Arts degree (or 60-credit diploma equivalent) with a specialization in English or Creative Writing OR have completed a combined minimum of six English and/or Creative Writing courses at Douglas College. Eligible candidates must be accepted as a transfer student from Douglas College into a Bachelor's Degree in either English or Creative Writing and preference will be given to those choosing to attend Gail's alma mater, the University of British Columbia. In 2016, Bruce Fraser restructured his pledge and committed to a contribution of $1,000 annually for the next four (4) years. Download application form.




Ken McGlinchey English Scholarship

The family of Ken McGlinchey and the Douglas College English Department established this award in memory of Ken McGlinchey, a member of that department from 1971 to 1987. Ken is remembered for his excellence as an instructor and commitment to the field of Canadian literature. Eligible students must have completed at least two first-year English courses, be currently enrolled in a second- or third-year literature or English course and have a minimum cumulative GPA of at least 3.5. Preference will be given to those who have completed, or are currently enrolled in, a Canadian literature course.

Susan Wasserman Scholarship

The Susan Wasserman Scholarship was established, in 2010, in honour of her retirement after nearly three decades of teaching in the Douglas College English Department. Its purpose is to celebrate the achievement of students studying Canadian literature and culture, areas that have long been central to Susan's research and teaching. The scholarship will be awarded annually to students who are taking English courses at Douglas College, with preference given to those who excel in English courses that focus on Canadian Literature.

Sylvia Perry English Studies Scholarship

In 1985, the Douglas College English Department established the Sylvia Perry English Studies Scholarship in honour of Sylvia Perry, a former English instructor at Douglas College. The purpose of the scholarship is to recognize students who demonstrate academic excellence in their English courses.



English Language Learning and Acquisition

Douglas College/Moriguchi City/New Westminster 30th Anniversary Scholarship (see general scholarships page)




Chestnut Music Theory & History Scholarship

The Chestnut Music Theory & History Scholarship was established in 1994 by a gift from the estate of Laura Chestnut. The purpose of this award is to recognize & reward students attending Douglas College and furthering their music education.

Henry Waack Music Scholarship

This award was established by Henry Waack, a founding faculty member of the department who retired in 1993. Preference is given to very promising students with an excellent record in the performing and academic parts of the program. A candidate must be enrolled in a minimum of 11 credits in the Basic Musicianship or University Transfer Music program, including all the core Music courses for which he or she is eligible. The scholarship must be applied toward further music studies at Douglas College.No application required; selection is made by Music faculty.



Performing Arts

Arts Council of New Westminster Scholarship

The Arts Council of New Westminster Scholarship was established in 1988 by the Arts Council of New Westminster to support students enrolled in Performing Arts.  Hilda Cliffe, a passionate supporter of the arts in New Westminster and a strong advocate for education, has been a major contributor to this fund.