Academic Upgrading

Laughing Dog Adult Basic Education Bursary

In 2001, Roy Daykin and Linda Fulkerson established the Laughing Dog Adult Basic Education Award to support students at Douglas College who were enrolled in the Adult Basic Education program. Roy is a former Douglas College employee and a former Douglas College Foundation Board member as well as a Douglas College Alumnus and is still actively employed in the BC post-secondary sector. The D.H. Radstaak Memorial Bursary was established in 1985 by Don Radstaak who was a former Adult Basic Education instructor at Douglas College. In 2013, the D.H. Radstaak Memorial Bursary was merged with the Laughing Dog Adult Basic Education Award. This new merged fund continued to support students furthering their studies by taking English as a Second Language, English-Upgrading and Math–Upgrading courses at DouglasCollege.In 2016, Roy agreed to change the Award to a Bursary to lower the GPA requirement and altered the enrolment criteria to support students in any program or Faculty taking either an English or Math Upgrading course.

Gail Smythe Memorial Bursary

The Gail Smythe Memorial Bursary was established in 1989 by family and friends to honour Gail's memory and her commitment to adult basic education (academic upgrading) at Douglas College. A reading specialist, Gail was widely recognized as a pioneer in the fields of adult literacy, adult education and primary education.  

She firmly believed that adult education students required the best education the system had to offer and she worked hard to ensure their needs were addressed.

Gail's links to Douglas College were not limited to her experience as an adult basic education instructor; her daughter, Naomi, also attended Douglas College.