Humanities and Social Sciences Awards


Amanda Todd Legacy Award of Distinction

Carol Todd established this award in December 2015 to pay tribute to, and honour, her daughter Amanda Todd who has been described as "a transformative angel".  Amanda died by suicide at the age of 15 in October 2012.  Eligible recipients must be enrolled in any program that focuses on mental health. This includes, but is not limited to, programs within the Faculty of Child, Family and Community Studies, the Faculty of Health Sciences and the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences.

Canadian Club of New Westminster and the Fraser Valley Award

This award reflects the Canadian Club of New Westminster and the Fraser Valley’s interests in matters of public concern and in the protection of our heritage and history. The Club also encourages Canadian unity and the increase of knowledge of Canada and other countries in the world. Recipient(s) must be enrolled in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Ineke J. Dijks & Michael C. Wilson Legacy Award

The Ineke J. Dijks & Michael C. Wilson Legacy Award was originally established, in 2010, to pay tribute to Ineke's commitment to education, her students, and her family. Upon Michael's retirement from Douglas College, his name was added to the title in honour of his long career and commitment to students and education. Ineke began her post secondary education later in life after moving to Canada in the 1970's. She was successful in obtaining a Master's Degree in Geography from Queen's University and won a national award for best thesis in Canadian Regional Geography. At the time of her passing in 2009, from cancer, Ineke was enrolled in a Doctoral program and posthumously she was awarded the J. Lewis Robinson Award for meritorious service to the discipline of Geography. Michael has a Doctorate from the University of Calgary and has traveled widely, teaching at colleges and universities in Canada, the U.S., China, and Japan. Michael retired, in 2014, after several years as Chair of the Earth & Environmental Sciences Department at Douglas and was awarded the title of Faculty Emeritus in 2015. He now works as a consultant, stays in touch regularly with his colleagues, as well as past students, and continues to pursue research relating to Ice-Age animals and ancient environments.

Kimberley Gail Dowie Award

This award was established by Laura Dowie to honour the life of her daughter, Kimberly Gail. Kim is remembered by her family as an all-star. She was magnanimous and possessed an infectious warmth and irrepressible optimism. While she was up for almost any challenge or adventure, including parachuting, scuba diving and joining in on a flight for a chance to cross the Arctic Circle, she had a passion for music and academia. At the time of her passing in 1975, Kim was studying archaeology and had accepted an offer to participate in an archaeological dig.

Real Estate Foundation Award

The purpose of the Real Estate Foundation Award is to support students enrolled in any real estate related course at Douglas College. It also recognizes students who are licensed real estate agents, have family members that are licensed real estate agents, and those who plan to pursue a career in real estate. 




Berkey Award in Anthropology To be awarded to a Douglas College student in the Anthropology Program. Preference will be given to Anthropology students who have completed, or are enrolled in at least one course in Archaeology at Douglas College. The award winner will have a minimum GPA of 3.0, and will have a demonstrated financial need.




Cassady & Company Award (see Commerce and Business Administration awards, Legal Administrative Assistant)

Law Foundation of BC Award The Law Foundation of British Columbia established this award in 2007 to support Douglas College students enrolled in the Legal Studies Diploma program. With the introduction, in 2016, of a Bachelor of Arts in Applied Criminology Degree program at Douglas College, the Law Foundation of BC committed to supporting students enrolled in either the Legal Studies or the Community and Institutional Practice streams of this degree program.

Peter W. Webster Award  (see General Awards)




George and Mary Porges Prize in History

George Porges established this prize in 2002 after teaching History at Douglas College from 1970 until his retirement in 1989. The purpose of this fund is to support students in their pursuit of history and the lessons one can learn from studying history. George passed away in 2004, at the age of 83, followed shortly there after by Mary, his wife of 50 years, in 2006. Eligible Students must have completed at least four History courses at Douglas College, two or more at the 2000 level, or higher, with an average grade of A- in all History courses completed. At least one of these courses must have been completed in the previous calendar year.